Sri. B.S.Yediyurappa

Hon'ble Chief Minister,
Government of Karnataka

Sri. Dr. C. N. Ashwath Narayan

Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister,
Hon'ble Minister of Higher Education, IT & BT,
Science and Technology
Government of Karnataka

The Government of Karnataka is making special efforts to elevate the standards of Higher Education and transform the state into the knowledge hub of the nation. Higher Education is a crucial tool for empowering individuals. Amazing progress in Science and Technology demands upscaling of multiple facets of Higher Education. The Government is relentlessly endeavoring towards restructuring of the Higher Education Institutions into centers of Competence, Excellence, and Innovationthat cater to the holistic development of students and society at large.

Department of Higher Education
The Department of Higher Education manages the administration of various institutions of Higher Education like Universities, First Grade Colleges, Engineering colleges and Polytechnics through Karnataka State Higher Education Council, Department of Collegiate Education and Department of Technical Education. The Department of Higher Education is making deliberate attempts at enabling institutions of Higher Learning to offer quality learning experience and design a splendid future for students.

Department of Collegiate Education
The Department of Collegiate Education includes within its administrative ambit 415 Government First Grade Colleges and 327 Private Aided Colleges which includes 07 Government Law Colleges. The Department also manages 54 Private Aided B.Ed. Colleges.Creation of a talent pool with broad knowledge base, appropriate skills and winsome attitude is the top priority of the Department.

Department of Technical Education

The Directorate of Technical Education ensures a planned development of technical education in the state consistent with the policies of State and the Nation. The department is committed to provide need based, quality technical education and professional human resources to the industry, business and community. The Department manages 82 Government, 44 Aided and 170 Private polytechnics, 11 Govt Engineering Colleges and 6 Junior Technical Schools.

Several ambitious initiatives have been taken up by the Department of Higher Education in Government Engineering Colleges, Government First Grade Colleges and Polytechnics to translate its pro-student intent into reality. Research and innovation, integration of ICT in education, science education, infrastructure development, skill training and community engagement in institutional development are but a few pertinent issues that have been addressed through these initiatives. Uninterrupted inflow of funds is crucial for taking these initiatives to fruition. This can only be ensured by the involvement of community. Sampradana is an online invitation for kindly hearts to walkinto the portals of Government Institutions for Higher learning.